Not approved by Joe the Plumber


It’s a week out from the Republican State Convention in Iowa. Again this cycle I am a delegate to that convention for my county. I have taken an active roll in politics since before I was 18 years old. And in the 3 decades since that time I have attended a number of county and state Central Committee meetings. I have attended a number of county, district, and state conventions as a delegate or alternate as well.

My civic duty goes beyond just voting. As our republic is to be a government of the people, by the people, and for the people. The people must be involved at every level. So I attempt to get myself involved where I can.

The downside of going to these meetings and conventions is that I see the same people all the time. They are always part of the standing committees. They are always the same ones we send to the national convention. The political elites that have come into power for power.

I have no problem if someone is doing a great job at it. By all means we should continue to appoint and elect them to their office. But we shouldn’t do that if no one else decides to go against them. They should be challenged. And many of them are just in politics for the power it gives them over others. These people should be replaced.

It has been said that doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is the definition of insanity. Yet we continue to send the same people to represent our state at the national level within our party. And we wonder why nothing changes.

And of course this year I am looking at the list of delegates and alternates that the state nominating committee came up with for this cycle. It’s a list of who’s who in the Iowa Republican Party elitists. And every last one of them is Ted Cruz approved. So these are the people that wont be getting my vote at the State Convention as a National Delegate or Alternate:

[table align=”center” width=”75%”] DELEGATES,ALTERNATE DELEGATES
Sen. Bill Anderson,Chelle Adkins
Gov. Terry Branstad,Shellie Bockenstedt
Robert Cramer,Pastor Joseph Brown
Bryan English,Mary Dorin
Sen. Randy Feenstra,Sen. Dennis Guth
Carol Hanson,Rose Jaeger
Cody Hoefert,Jeff King
Congressman Steve King,Maurice McWhirter
Marlys Popma,David Oman
Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds,Kay Quirk
Richard Rogers,Donna Robinson
Loras Schulte,Jennifer Smith
Cecil Stinemetz,Heather Stancil
Speaker Linda Upmeyer,Linda Stickle
Bob Vander Plaats,Craig Williams

All of these nominees are old blood. They are the political elites of Iowa. And all but maybe Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds are supporters of Ted Cruz. Including two of his national co-chairs. I’m sure the nominating committee would have loved NOT to include the Governor and the Lt. Governor but they had to in order to save face.

I want to thank the Republican Party of Iowa for providing the list of nominees that I am not going to support for the National Convention on the 21st of May. I hope we can get some others nominated and some new blood injected into the system. It is the only way to save the Republican Party.